CMPS 2020

Programming II
Data Structures

Hours:
Lecture:
M W 5:30pm - 6:45pm
Sci III room 240
Lab:
M W 7:00pm - 8:15pm
Sci III room 240


syllabus

homework submission

file permissions

assignment rules

logging

Examples

Common Compilation Errors

Videos

FAQ

grades

list text to html

tree text to html

Algorithm Visualizations

PointerQuiz1

PointerQuiz2

FunctionQuiz


Prior to class starting you may want to make sure you have your computer set up to be able to access your account on odin
I suggest you install VS Code and configure it to work with Remote Development.
here is a link discussing it as an example  video



Date
(week 1)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Aug 23 Functions PBV
Homework 01
Due Aug 29 at midnight

Lab 01
Wed, Aug 25 Functions PBR
Gaddis
All of Chapter 6
Lab 02
Date
(week 2)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Aug 30 Functions PBP
Gaddis
9.1 to 9.7
Homework 02
Due Sep 12 at midnight

Lab 03
Wed, Sep 01 Template Functions
Gaddis
16.2
Lab 04
Date
(week 3)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Sep 06 Holiday No Class
Wed, Sep 08 Exceptions
Gaddis
16.1
Lab 05
Date
(week 4)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Sep 13 Pointers and Arrays
Homework 03
Due Sep 19 at midnight

Lab 06
Wed, Sep 15 Sorting and Array Manipulation
Lab 07
Date
(week 5)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Sep 20 Dynamic Memory ( brief constructors/destructors)
Gaddis
9.8
Homework 04
Due Sep 26 at midnight

Lab 08
Wed, Sep 22 Constructors and Destructors
Gaddis
13.7 to 13.9, 14.4
Lab 09
Date
(week 6)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Sep 27 Static Members and Friend Functions
Gaddis
14.1 to 14.2, 14.4
Homework 05
Due Oct 03 at midnight

Lab 10
Wed, Sep 29 Operator Overloading
14.5 Lab 11
Date
(week 7)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Oct 04 Inheritance
Gaddis
15.1 to 15.3
Homework 06
Due Oct 10 at midnight

Lab 12
Wed, Oct 06 Stacks and Menu Driven Main
Gaddis
18.1
Lab 13
Date
(week 8)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Oct 11 Polymorphism
Gaddis
15.6
Homework 07
Due Oct 17 at midnight

Lab 14
Wed, Oct 13 Template Classes
Gaddis
16.4, 18.2
Lab 15
Date
(week 9)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Oct 18 Queue
Gaddis
18.4
Homework 08
Due Oct 24 at midnight

Lab 16
Wed, Oct 20 Circular Queue
Lab 17
Date
(week 10)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Oct 25 Single Linked List
Gaddis
17.1 to 17.3
Homework 09
Due Oct 31 at midnight

Lab 18
Wed, Oct 27 Single Linked List Continued
Lab 19
Date
(week 11)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Nov 01 Double Linked List
Gaddis
17.4 to 17.5
Homework 10
Due Nov 07 at midnight

Lab 20
Wed, Nov 03 Recursion
Gaddis
19.1 to 19.2
Lab 21
Date
(week 12)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Nov 08 Binary Search Tree
Carrano
15.2
Homework 11
Due Nov 19 at midnight

Lab 22
Wed, Nov 10 Holiday No Class
Date
(week 13)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Nov 15 Preorder, Postorder, Inorder Tree Traversal
Cerrano
15.2.1
Lab 23
Wed, Nov 17 Performance
Cerrano
10 to 10.2
Lab 24
Date
(week 14)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Nov 22 AVL Tree
Cerrano
16.3
Lab 25
Wed, Nov 24 Hashtables
see lecture folder Homework 12
Due Dec 01 at midnight

Lab 26
Date
(week 15)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Nov 29 STL Overview Quick
Lab 27
Wed, Dec 01 Quick Sort
Lab 28
Date
(week 16)
Focus Reading Homework Lab
Mon, Dec 06 NO LAB
NO LAB
Final: TBD